Deeper into dream*

Picture from liivia on Flickr

I’m lying on my back, looking at my huge, pregnant belly. I feel uncomfortable, awkward, heavy and ungainly as I roll over and try to get up. I know it won’t be long now.

I must have had this dream shortly before I woke up on Monday morning, because I was surprised, in those first few moments of waking, to find I was not pregnant, I was just the same old me.

And here’s the thing – I never dream about real things – things I’ve been obsessing over, big upheavals, new loves, stresses. Nothing that relates to my real life, or my fantasy life. You know when you have those lovely daydreams (at whatever time of the day) and you want to take them to bed with you? They never come to bed with me. Instead, weird, disjointed, seemly unconnected, and really quite random people, events and places appear in my dreams. People pop into my dream life unbidden. Once I dreamed I was having a torrid affair with Ryan Philippe. I’d never seen a Ryan Philippe film, nor ever thought about him, had only occasionally seen his picture alongside Reese Witherspoon (the dream was some years ago – the torrid affair was really vivid!).

So I’m wondering if it’s a sign. Does anyone believe in dreams as signs? I’m not sure; of course I’d love it if it were true, a true sign or augury. I believed it was a sign immediately on waking, but my certainty has faded.

My friend K has assured me it is a sign though, having had an especially vivid dream about George Clooney a few months back. She is the world’s biggest George obsessive stalker  fan. So much so that her daughter believes that George is her mum’s boyfriend. Apparently in the dream she was in the shower and George was in the kitchen making a cup of tea. Raunch!!

Anyway, George is coming to Sydney next week to speak at a summit on collaboration, and of course, K has got her hot little mitts on a ticket. So her dream really was a sign that George would be making an appearance in her life. She’s pretty convinced they really will be “collaborating” over a “cup of tea” soon.

So, anyone have any insights into dreams?

*The title of this post is also the title of Ben Lee‘s latest album. Which I must buy. I love love love his music and outlook on life. We’re all in this together.

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 Comments

Filed under ART, IVF, pregnant over 40, two week wait

4 responses to “Deeper into dream*

  1. Travel in your dreams.

      • It took a long time. It took 8 years for me to find her frequency and find her. I sent out so many beacons of vibrations out into the universe. Finally. I finally found her. She was exploring in a far corner of the universe. A soul nebula.

        And then I had to contact the person who played a part in her demise. Our demise. We worked hard and came to a truce. Then I had to explain why I needed him to be the donor. It was not easy.

        But my life ended in 2009 and maybe having a near death experience helped me find her? Since then, I have only been following.

  2. I really don’t know. I do believe that many times dreams are representative of emotions. I dream sometimes, not of being pregnant, but of having twin boy toddlers, in nothing but diapers, in my kitchen, at my feet. Most of my dreams are like Quentin Tarantino movies. I always wonder when the toddler dream pops up, if it’s a sign or just my want for a child coming through.

Leave a Reply

