Dwell in possibility

I feel like craaaaaap.

Have done since last Wednesday, after egg collection. The first few days I presumed were just tenderness after the procedure, but since then, I have felt blaaaah.

eg:

  • majorly constipated (TMI?) but like I’ve never felt before. It hurt to walk. Except that I am no longer constipated and I still feel like shit. ‘scuse the pun.
  • spasmodic spasms in my intestines, like when you’ve got food poisoning. Maybe I’ve got food poisoning?
  • intermittent headaches
  • i’m quite tired
  • period-like pain, quite intense. Took paracetamol earlier to try and deal with some or all symptoms, to no avail. Don’t want to take any more.
  • maybe they all just mean I’m pregnant. I feel bloody awful.

I had acupuncture yesterday, to try and get my energy flowing and balanced, and obviously in particular to get more energy flowing to the uterus. I have some impressive cupping marks on my back (so Gwyneth!). I really hope the guy understood that I had had the embryos transferred. I’m sure he did but his Chinese accent was very thick so I worried halfway through whether we had been speaking at cross-purposes. Of course it was too late by that stage, I had pins sticking out all over me. He seemed to know what he was talking about in any case, seemed very familiar with the IVF process.

He told me this though – if you are in the early stages of pregnancy DO NOT get a shoulder massage! Who knew this?! Apparently there are pressure points on the shoulders – around the traps I think – that if pressed hard enough could cause miscarriage.  Also on the inner ankles towards the back and somewhere else that I can’t remember now. But particularly the shoulders. Huh.

Feeling delicate, must be a woman

I’ve also been googling what symptoms, if any, I should/could/may be feeling, if I can feel anything other than what I’m already feeling. I checked out a few other fertility clinics’ websites for information. One I read said they got the women to stay lying down for 30 minutes to an hour after embryo transfer. My clinic just said to get on with it. This other website also said to avoid doing ANYTHING in the days following transfer. Don’t move, don’t walk, don’t run, you delicate little thing!!!

I mean come on. How illogical is that! Because if you have had sex you could be ANYWHERE when that egg and sperm unite and then implant, because it can take a few days. Cross country skiing. In court. Climbing the Sydney Harbour Bridge (so Oprah!).

They also advocated abstaining from sex, and under no circumstances are you to ORGASM! But it’s perfectly fine to give your partner pleasure. Who wrote this!?! Some 1950s man I think.

Anyway, my clinic reckons there is evidence to suggest that sex after transfer could actually help implantation – the seminal fluid contains a growth factor apparently.

Fat lot of good that does me though.

And on the subject of sex, trying to get knocked up without having sex, when you are actually quite a fan of sex, is a bloody cruel irony. And added to that, if this works (and I’m of the belief it will) I might not have sex again for a very long time indeed. And that makes me sad! And toey (how do you spell that ?) already! Friends of mine who are single mothers haven’t had sex in years. Years. Dear god.

Still, as Emily Dickinson said, dwell in possibility. And that also means the possibility of lots of future sex.

2 Comments

Filed under ART, IVF

2 responses to “Dwell in possibility

  1. Yeah the sex part would be a preferable way to make a baby but at the end of the day there are always ‘alternatives’.

    The symptoms sound positive, try not to obsess though (but if you can’t help it then twoweekwait.com is brilliant!).

    Best of luck with it all chica, I hope this one is a sticky one!

    Keep us posted x

  2. Hey!

    Sounds all like pregnancy symptoms to me. From about week 3 I vomited all day everyday from 3am to 5pm til about week 14. It was foul.

    My sister was also told to just get on with it after implantation. She went to Clovelly for a swim right after the little cells were given their new home. My mother and I were horrified. I think if it were me I’d have stayed at home all weekend laying down with my legs in the air! She’s like 25 weeks preggers now so obviously it was ok.

    Good luck. I’m thinking of you all the time. Single mothers by choice rock! If I do say so myself…

    V.

Leave a Reply

